Walls!

I know I left y’all hanging on the progress of the house. I went Outside for a couple of weeks and couldn’t blog. But, I’m back so I’ll get you caught up on what’s been happening here over the past month or so….

With just a few more evenings of work (understatement of the year) the walls are up!

I know you can’t see it in this first picture, but they have a come-along attached to the top of the wall that threads down over the board sticking out the back. Ben will pull the wall up, while Dave maneuvers the brace boards into place. When the wall is vertical, he’ll nail the braces in place.

Come-alongs are great for winching up a wall too big to pick up.

Come-alongs are great for winching up a wall too big to pick up.

Most notable injury so far. Just a smashed foot. No biggie.

Most notable injury so far. Just a smashed foot. No biggie.

We’re big on safety here. (Yeah, I know what you’re thinking…I think it, too.) Dave only dropped the wall once on his foot. But I dashed up with some essential oils to rub on it and (like magic!) he’s fine. Either that or he isn’t going to say anything so I won’t anoint him again.

We wanted that wall where?!

We wanted that wall where?!

Got the tarp up. Let it rain!

Got the tarp up. Let it rain!

North Wall

North Wall

We’ve had a hot, dry summer so far. But, the forecast is calling for rain, so they’ve put up a tarp to keep the rain off the plywood.

I think it’s beginning to look like a house.

3 thoughts on “Walls!

Leave a Reply

